Log inRegister an accountBrowse CSDbHelp & documentationFacts & StatisticsThe forumsAvailable RSS-feeds on CSDbSupport CSDb Commodore 64 Scene Database
You are not logged in - nap
CSDb User Forums

Forums > C64 Composing > Goat tracker sample files.
2005-05-28 20:26
tatqoo^tqa
Account closed

Goat tracker sample files.

Hi.

First let me apologize for posting a question that probably has been answered on this forum.

I would like to try Goat Tracker but i need more example tunes.

Can somebody point me to some resources ?

You should know, that i am totally c-64 newbie. I am an Atari 8-bit musician , you can find my tunes (mostly covers) in Rater Music Tracker package.

So, any nice guys to help with sample tracks and maybe even some other c-64 music resources ? (e.g. theory).

Thanks in advance.

tatqoo
2005-05-28 20:48
cadaver

You could start with the MW4-goattracker song pack. Note that the game requires the first subtune to be silence, so don't be surprised when you see nothing in the orderlist; just go to next subtune.

http://covertbitops.c64.org/music/mw4sng.zip

However, those are in the style of repetitive heavy metal inspired gamemusic, and not very technical, so you may not learn much. Hope that SmallTownBoy divulges his secrets :)
2005-05-29 09:30
Hein

Best way to learn is try out. The helpfile is good enough to learn the basics of Goattracker, everything else is what your creativity comes up with.

It took me some time to get a hang of the sid, making quite some bad sounding tunes in the beginning, with bad settings to the registers.

One thing I use to learn about other peoples tricks, is to listen to the sids I like, and imagine 'how would they have done that' and try to create the same. (Most often something else came out, still suitable for my needs)